IDENTITY, by Giovanni di Mola

IMG_8776

“My name is Giovanni di Mola. I’m a photographer and DJ based in Upstate New York. 10 years ago I left a life in the clubworld of New York City to clean myself up and get some perspective on who I am, what I want, and the mark I want to make. That’s when I discovered the city of Hudson, New York, about 2 hours north of Manhattan.
Like me, Hudson had lived through its own colorful chapters – a thriving whaling town, a pipeline city for drugs and prostitution, and then, in its most recent incarnation, a safe harbor for creative people fashioning a life outside the mainstream.
Like most typical New Yorkers, I didn’t have a car or a driver’s license, but Hudson was a walkable town, a Main Street town, not too big, not too small. And because the rents were exponentially cheaper than what I was paying in New York, I was able to open my photography studio and start my life as a professional artist.
Over the next ten years, I would come to know who I am through the people I photographed – people that were searching for themselves just like I was. That search for identity became the throughline of my work.
The portraits were a conversation. For the subjects, they were seeing themselves through another’s eyes, gaining a fresh perspective, and being reminded of their unique beauty.
For me, each portrait drew me deeper into an understanding of my own identity. I was unraveling the knot that had formed in my childhood and early adulthood in New York City and was finally seeing the threads of who I truly am for the first time.
I began to show my work at local galleries and shops and was astonished and humbled when the work began to find an audience. I won the Columbia County Artist Award for Best in Show and was selected as one of the first NYFA Mark artists exhibiting in Hudson and New York City – a rewarding homecoming of sorts. Since then I’ve shown in several galleries, have been published in Italian Vogue and Vice Magazine and have sold my work to patrons from around the world.
This book IDENTITY, and the show connected with it, will be a celebration of my journey as an artist, and the individuals I’ve had the pleasure of photographing along the way. It will also be the first official collection of my work as one complete story.”

Giovanni di Mola

giovanni-d-mola-identity-promo-square-WEBGiovanni is releasing his book IDENTITY, and he needs your help on this new crusade.
Every week 2HeadS receives emails with found raising for photo books. But IDENTITY seems indeed a great publication, worth a helping hand. Or two. In fact, it’s not the first time Giovanni’s work is featured on 2HeadS.
Or as my friend and photographer Michael Epps use to say:
“Art deserves an Audience“.

Here’s the link for Giovanni di Mola campaign, including more info and video: IDENTITY.

and here are some photographs by Giovanni that will be in the book:

bastard CRW_0013 CRW_0037 NGOUNGA IMG_0070.JPG IMG_0115 IMG_0129 NOVA.. IMG_0724 IMG_1979 IMG_2756 muovimento IMG_4671 IMG_5812 IMG_5940 IMG_8064 IMG_8244 Liam Florida 1 Michael Robbins furniture designer 2015 Nothing Lasts Forever

You should visit Giovanni di Mola’s Website and follow him on Tumblr / Twitter to keep yourself updated.

But first, indiegogo his IDENTITY.

Lecturing on Photography / Review your Portfolio, by Gonzalo Bénard

Autistic Solitude vs. Loneliness: B Shot by a Stranger.

July, 2015 – post by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter

Preview and Purchase now:

cover The Sacred Book of Gss GBenard IEnergyss

The Sacred Book of G” is a stream of consciousness, a thought provoking intimate journal written by Gonzalo Bénard. After 3 days of brain death he reborn with a deep loss of memory. He reborn without any sense of his past — of his own roots — of his own self. Before that he’d spent his time creating defences to disguise his autism. He had lost it too. New born G had no memory and no defences.

I, Energy” is a book on Cosmic Consciousness, Quantum Physics and Old Shamanism written by Gonzalo Bénard who not only lived in Himalayas with shamans and in a Buddhist monastery but also in the Western Sahara with old shamans. A guide on healing and transcendental meditation and how you can master your own mind, leading yourself the collective consciousness.

Gonzalo Bénard is a lecturer, author, tutor of autistic teenagers, and a visual artist.His photography has been part of the annual programs of several universities around the world, mainly about the series Oneness, Nudes and B Shot by a Stranger, and are in several private and public art collections such as Museum of Serralves, Cultural Centre of Cascais or Sir Elton John’s.
His photographs are also being used in Hollywood productions and TV series and you can see his work of photography at his webpage.

Follow @GBenard on twitter for daily updates.

On Amazon you can also purchase these 2 books of Gonzalo Bénard photography:
GBenard nude cover 1ss book cover