I Am Not Mr. Spock (NSFW)

I Am Spock

Mr. Spock made part of my childhood; even though I was not born yet when Star Trek came up, it was the first time that a TV series engaged me as a kid. I wanted to have his ears too. Yet, I wanted to be a Plutonian, not a Vulcan. Maybe this resulted in my first existential crisis.

It was a shock when this week I heard about Mr. Spock’s death. We always have in mind that heroes never die. But I realised immediately after that who died was not Mr. Spock but Leonard Nimoy. Yes, Nimoy was human like any of you: he had the right to die. Mr. Spock will live forever though.

I Am Not Spock

Nimoy went also through an existential crisis: he published “I Am Not Spock”, to later on write a new book called “Yes, I Am Spock”. Apart from being a memorable actor, he was also a poet, a writer… and a photographer.

2HeadS makes here a small tribute to him. To Mr. Spock. And to Leonard Nimoy, who is not Mr. Spock.

Nimoy studied photography at UCLA, in the 1970s, when he seriously considered photography as an alternative to his acting career, but only in 2003 he renounced to his acting to focus on photography.

Here are some of his photographs, from the 70’s to his later days, starting with his most well known series “Full Body”:

Full Body #4 by Leonard Nimoy

Full Body #4 by Leonard Nimoy

Full Body #3 by Leonard Nimoy

Full Body #3 by Leonard Nimoy

Full Body #2 by Leonard Nimoy

Full Body #2 by Leonard Nimoy

Full Body1 by Leonard Nimoy

Full Body#1 by Leonard Nimoy

and now 2 self-portraits, two of his amazing photographs of hands… and his art nudes:

Leonard Nimoy Self-Portrait With Shek

Leonard Nimoy Self-Portrait With Shek

Leonard Nimoy Self-Portrait With Light Bulb

Leonard Nimoy Self-Portrait With Light Bulb

Hands by Leonard Nimoy

Hands by Leonard Nimoy

Hands by Leonard Nimoy

Hands by Leonard Nimoy

Nude by Leonard Nimoy

Nude by Leonard Nimoy

Nude by Leonard Nimoy

Nude by Leonard Nimoy

more posts you want to read:

Ordeal by Roses by Eikoh Hosoe
12 Witches in Gambaga Camp, by Eric Gyamfi
Translitoranea, by Andrea Eichenberger
Yelena Yemchuk’s photographs of Gidropark, Kiev;

Lecturing on Photography / Review your Portfolio, by Gonzalo Bénard

Autistic Solitude vs. Loneliness;
A Shamanic Totem;
Oneness;
Hybrids (NSFW);
RA before sunset.

February, 2015 – post by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter

For any other contact about 2HeadS or my Photographic Work, from Art Galleries, Curators, Art Collectors, etc, please use the GBénard/2HeadS email. Thank you.

Feel free to comment, ask or share any article on 2HeadS every time you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles.