Borrowed Self Portraits

Sometime ago I had one of those non-days… when you get stuck waiting for something important. On a parallel thought, I never understood “appropriation art”. People who steal others artworks to recreate them; making them theirs. I also had to test something on photoshop to ease the work I had to do.
I then collected some portraits by old masters, so I can play around with them. And with my own self-portraits. To learn, to understand, to play.
The result was a series of photographs, self portraits after some great portraits by other masters in painting. Blending photography and painting. Blending portraits. Blending myself with others.
This is a series in which I became others. In which others became me.
My self-portraits were never selfies, instead they’re conceptual photographs in which I only borrow myself to act according to the concept I created as artist.
This is different. This series were just me fooling around using some of my photographs.
Velasquez, Durer, Otto Dix, Jean Gross, Jacques-Louis David, Rogier van der Weyden, Vincenzo de Biagio or Jan Van Eyck. Some of them are already self-portraits of the artists. So I became them. Others are well-known portraits of others: Bonaparte, King Philip IV, Queen Saint Elizabeth or even Napoleon.

self-portrait with turban after Jan Van Eyck, by ©GBenard

self-portrait with turban after Jan Van Eyck, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Jerome Bonaparte after Antoine Jean Grosss, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Jerome Bonaparte after Antoine Jean Grosss, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as King Philip IV after Diego Velasquez, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as King Philip IV after Diego Velasquez, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Napoleon Bonaparte after Jacque-Louis David, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Napoleon Bonaparte after Jacques-Louis David, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Queen Isabel de Portugal after Rogier van der Weydenss, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Queen Isabel de Portugal after Rogier van der Weydenss, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Durer's self-portrat after Durer, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Durer’s self-portrait after Durer, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Self-portrait of Vincenzo de  Biagioss, after Vincenzo de  Biagioss, by ©GBenard

Self-portrait as Self-portrait of Vincenzo de Biagioss, after Vincenzo de Biagioss, by ©GBenard

because you want it: Portfolio Reviews by Gonzalo Bénard

More articles you want to read:

Autistic Solitude vs. Loneliness;
A Shamanic Totem;
Oneness;
Hybrids (NSFW);

RA before sunset. by Gonzalo W. Bénard;
50 Shades of Monochrome by Jeremy M.;

The Sacred and Profane Anna Zavileiskaia;
Keiyo Street, by Sebastian Schlüter

September, 2014 – by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter – Facebook

Portfolio Reviews

For any other contact about 2HeadS or my Photographic Work, from Art Galleries, Curators, Art Collectors, etc, please use the GBénard/2HeadS email. Thank you.

Feel free to comment, ask or share any article on 2HeadS every time you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles.