From Transylvania with Love, by Vlad Dumitrescu

“An introduction of my work should start with a short description of Romania. The magic of this country lies in its landscapes and in its warm people that are living in villages from very close to the sea to the heart of the mountains. Every region has its own specific habits and its own stories, which are making together the beautiful book, called – Romania. Every season is turning slowly page-by-page from this book, over and over again, for thousands of years. You can still find in these villages carts run by oxen, people working at the looms or in the fields with horses. I must say that I am very lucky to live in this country, but at the same time, I am sorry to see that day by day something is changing as the modernism is cutting deeper and deeper in our old traditions. My aim is to find during my walks up and down and around the hills, valleys and villages of Romania, old people and forgotten habits and try to bring back into present something that was lost in the past. The Romanian village is my main motive because I love its people and its habits and because I see it dying. As I have a job that keeps me occupied during the week, my photographic work until now was put up together during weekends and during the short holidays that I had since I started photography. And, because I love stories, here are some stories made here, in Romania.”
by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

Vlad’s work caught me by surprise and it made me feel immediately connected. I couldn’t stop going forward on his work of photography, and one thing I knew for sure: “This is so good! I want this on 2HeadS!”. The worst part was to make a selection of just few of his works: I wanted to post almost everything. Vlad doesn’t have a webpage, just a simple blog and a FB page in which he post some of his photographs. In the few lines of our short conversation it was obvious his humbleness, and with such a great work: people connected to earth, to real life use to be like this. It reminded me of the work by Giancarlo Rado that I mentioned and posted on the “Outsiders“. Vlad shows an incredible respect by these people’s work: the persons he photograph, as if they were all part of his family. It is his culture, his Transylvania that he dears, that he already misses in nostalgia even though it’s still there.

On Vlad’s work, we can feel this nostalgia, this timeless people and culture that he wants to keep alive. This people who are connected to earth, to the animals, to human nature itself. There’s not much youth though, it seems that there’s a lack of 2 generations in fact. Very old people who probably never left that area, and very young kids, who would probably leave to the city for study and work.

Vlad’s work with natural light and natural colours is incredible. It’s raw. And it comes out with soul. It’s honest. It’s passionate. And there’s not much more to say. The quality is undeniable. The ultimate reality of his works is just stunning.

As you can see:

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

Portfolio Reviews Here!

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

more related posts you want to see:

Flamboya, by Viviane Sassen
Occupied Pleasures, by Tanya Habjouqa;  
Une Encyclopédie Imaginaire, by Laurent Millet;  
Daily Bread, by Jean-Marc Caimi (NSFW)
Alberto Garcia-Alix (NSFW);
Myths of the Human, by Alexis Vasilikos;
Chang Chao-Tang, the Ironic Absurdity;
A Shamanic Totem

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

by Vlad Dumitrescu

 

May, 2014 – post by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter – Facebook

Portfolio Reviews

For any other contact about 2HeadS or my Photographic Work, from Art Galleries, Curators, Art Collectors, etc, please use the GBénard/2HeadS email. Thank you.

Feel free to comment, ask or share any article on 2HeadS everytime you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles.