My Top 20 Photographers (NSFW)

You often ask me who are the photographers I most admire, those I never cease to look at to learn with, those who inspired and keep inspiring me the most. Even though my inspiration comes more from music, literature, humanity itself and nature -, here you have some of the photographers I like the most.
Some are more classic, some others more contemporary. But as any list “my top 20” is rather incomplete. There are many others I admire, some with their full body of work, some others just with a more specific series. Most of them were good enough to break all the rules.
Some can: you do have to know all the rules before being able to break them.

Here you have then my Top 20 Photographers:

Alberto Garcia-Alix, Cristina García Rodero, Diane Arbus, Duane Michals, Eikoh Hosoe, Erwin Olaf, Evgeny Mokhorev, Joel-Peter Witkins, Jorge Molder, Larry Clark, Lauren Simonutti, Malick Sidibé, Mario Cravo Neto, Pierre Gonnord, Pierre Molinier, Pieter Hugo, Robert Mapplethorpe, Roger Ballen, Sebastiao Salgado and Weegee.

Maybe another day I’ll remember 20 more, but if you ask if I had to choose only one… sure: Mario Cravo Neto.

Few years ago I saw a magnificent exhibition at Museo Reina Sofia with the work of Alberto Garcia-Alix. If I loved his work, I must say that I got speechless in there. I met him couple years ago in Paris, at a cafe though. An outstanding man.

When I was Editorial Coordinator at the Cultural Center of Belem, in Lisbon, one of the exhibitions that I coordinated was the one by Mario Cravo Neto. I must say that guided by him the catalogue was the best one I ever produced. I remember though that in our phone calls I asked him where he was, once the background sounds were quite junglish. He said that he was living in the middle of the jungle (Amazon), and the sounds I was listening to were the monkeys and birds coming in and out of his open studio. A very wise man, humble within nature and demanding within humanity. A Shaman.

Last year at Paris Photo I promised Roger Ballen an interview with him, here at 2HeadS. A must. I hope soon to be able to do it. Sorry for the delay Roger!

Evgeni Mokhorev, is a contemporary Russian photographer, who’s also represented by my agent for art collectors: Susan/Eyemazing Editions.

Another exhibition I couldn’t have missed was the one that occupied the 3 floors of the Maison Européenne de Photographie, his “Genesis”, in Paris: the terrific work by Sebastiao Salgado.

Lauren Simonutti… one of the several friends who died – unexpected – in these 2 last years. This photo I show here is probably the one I want to keep as memory of her.

Jorge Molder. A master, and I guess the very first reference I had in photography, when I was a kid and taking my very first steps with my inherited Pentax.

 

by Alberto García-Alix

by Alberto García-Alix

BlancaNieves, by Garcia Rodero

BlancaNieves, by Cristina Garcia Rodero

The wonderful tattooed man at a carnival in Maryland, 1970, by Diane Arbus

The wonderful tattooed man at a carnival in Maryland, 1970, by Diane Arbus

by Duane Michals

by Duane Michals

by Erwin Olaf

by Erwin Olaf

by Eikoh Hosoe

by Eikoh Hosoe

by Evgeny Mokhorev

by Evgeny Mokhorev

by Joel-Peter Witkins

by Joel-Peter Witkins

by Larry Clark

by Larry Clark

by Jorge Molder

by Jorge Molder

more posts you want to read:

Creativity. The Immediate Long Term.

Oneness
The Self, the Mirror, our Shadow and its Fear;
The Hard Softness (NSFW);
Pain should never be an excuse, but a tool for you to create with;
B Shot by a Stranger: Beyond Loneliness
.

 

by Lauren Simonutti

by Lauren Simonutti

by Malick Sidibé

by Malick Sidibé

by Mario Cravo Neto

by Mario Cravo Neto

by Pierre Gonnord

by Pierre Gonnord

by Pierre Molinier

by Pierre Molinier

Ask for your Portfolio Review now!

by Pieter Hugo

by Pieter Hugo

by Robert Mapplethorpe

by Robert Mapplethorpe

by Roger Ballen

by Roger Ballen

Martian Woman On The Telephone, 1955, by Weegee

Martian Woman On The Telephone, 1955, by Weegee

by Sebastiao Salgado

by Sebastiao Salgado

 

And you? Who are the photographers you take as reference?

other posts you will enjoy:
On art-photography, gear is secondary;
What Makes a Good Photograph? (part I);
What Makes a Good Photograph? (part II);
The Conspiracy of the Brain;
The Conspiracy of the Triangle (NSFW)
.

May, 2014 – by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter – Facebook
Portfolio Reviews

For any other contact about 2HeadS or my Photographic Work, from Art Galleries, Curators, Art Collectors, etc, please use the GBénard/2HeadS email. Thank you.

Feel free to comment, ask or share any article on 2HeadS everytime you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles.