The Corpses of My Hours, by Boris Loeve

When I first saw this series “The Corpses of my Hours”, by Boris Loeve, I not only fall in love by them (in fact wishing myself to have taken them), but also what came to my mind was all the existentialist philosophers, from Heidegger to Sartre, imagining them there – including Kafka and Nietzsche – discussing the eventuality of death within life. But I’m going to save you from a class of philosophy so you don’t have to feel covered like a statue in winter.

I talked before about identity in the post Anonymous: defaced, unfaced, 2faced and overfaced. And recently being interviewed for a magazine one of the questions was about identity and nothingness, quoting Sarah Moon who wrote “For nothing to happen, something has to happen first”. that you can see at the previous article Alchemy.

“The Corpses of my Hours”, is a very clever series on personal identity in time. Boris Loeve sent me some words about it:

“Photography is all about identity crisis. One cannot decide what his photography will look like. In the best case scenario, you will be able to slightly push the outcome towards one direction or another. Eventually, the images will allow you to look back at the time you took them, and help you clarifying your own state of mind by then.”

Here is what these pictures say, eventually:

“And so,
the fight is over

And the corpses of my hours

Dead corpses of my hours and of my foolish years

They lie defeated and begin to rot.
le champ est libre. Voilà que bientôt
sur le pauvre Kuru-Kshetra of my life
l’herbe très timide se mettra à pousser… »

[Excerpt from « Le sang du Ciel », written in french –and in English- by Piotr Rawicz]

The Corpses of My Hours #1, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #1, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #2, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #2, By Boris Loeve

borisloeve_statues_2

The Corpses of My Hours #3, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #3, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #4, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #4, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #5, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #5, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #6, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #6, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #7, By Boris Loeve

The Corpses of My Hours #7, By Boris Loeve

borisloeve_statues_8

borisloeve_statues_11

Portfolio Review!

more articles you want to read:
Memory Cards and Touristic Brains;
Noh, Pop and Morimura;
Emmet Gowin and his revelations;
Majid Saeedi: Lucas Dolega Award;
Exhibitions: Go!

Philip-Lorca diCorcia in the Street 
Enrico Natali and other people.
On art-photography, gear is secondary

B Shot by a Stranger: Beyond Loneliness
Exhibitions: Go!

March 2014 by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter – Facebook
Portfolio Reviews

For any other contact about 2HeadS or my Photographic Work, from Art Galleries, Curators, Art Collectors, etc, please use the GBénard/2HeadS email. Thank you.

Feel free to comment, ask or share any article on 2HeadS everytime you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles.