David Szauder the Glitched PixelNoizz

David Szauder. Sometimes known as PixelNoizz, his war name. He’s from Hungary, born in 1976.

David Szauder. I’ll repeat his name as many times as it’s needed. Enough for you to memorize it.

David Szauder. Is an art creator, and he plays with the concept of human memory and computer memory.
And Glitch and Generative Art, in which he’s a master.

Since some time ago that I wanted to write about his work here. In fact I mentioned him and posted couple of his images at the article Anonymous: defaced, unfaced, 2faced and overfaced.

First of all I was drowned into his imagery. Second I loved his main concept of work.

As you know I was in coma few years ago, and when I woke up I didn’t have memory. Maybe just smell, which is our deepest and most faithful memory we have. I had emotional memory as well. But we have so different kind of memories that sometimes can be quite hard to play with them all. I’m still fixing my mind’s puzzle. There are lots of things that I don’t remember, such as school, old friends, facts, and specially names. I was a living encyclopaedia and somehow I got now lots of space to learn new stuff. Anyway, we, like computers have different kinds of memory and the world of memory is wonderful, sometimes enchanting some other times a pain in the ass. As an art creator I do have great visual memory though. But forget names. That’s why I also need to repeat David Szauder more times. I’m following his brilliant work that I admire so much since an year ago and today when I finally decided to write about him I had to go through my own mental images. But it’s easy: google glitch art and what comes first is David Szauder. Or his battle name: pixelnoizz.

What is failed memories?

“I am inspired by the parallels that I see between human memory and computer memory: Our brains store away images to retrieve them later, like files stored away on a hard drive. But when we go back and try to re-access those memories, we may find them to be corrupted in some way – glitched, if you will.

When we see a picture (photo) we are able to remember the details, but only for [a] short period. In [the] long term we start to lose parts of the details and instead of these lost fragments we fill the gaps with our self-generated memories, memory fragments.

I always add a short narratives to accompany each photo, which often give imagined insight into why the subject’s appearance–and sometimes their mind–has been altered: A regular churchgoer starts doubting himself; a group of friends get too deep into their discussion of metaphysics; a glamorous woman is driven to paranoia by the bubbles in her champagne.” wrote David Szauder.

People often ask me who are my preferred artists, and I use to say that are the ones who broke the rules and were creative and innovative. From Hieronymus Bosch to Joel-Peter Witkins or Jan Saudek. David Szauder it’s a new acquisition for my collection of “breakers”. His skills on code and computer language – that I have no clue -, added with his creativity and mind concept is simply great.

Using glitch programmes to randomly generate an image error is brilliant. But it’s not for mind-control freaks, once you really can’t control. David goes beyond that. He uses an already existent photograph, puts it there in the glitch generator machine (I easily visualize his app like a laundry machine from which the clothes come out wrinkled) and with the final result he works with both creating the final image, playing with memories. And people. Our own errors. And with what is glitched-given to us.

so now you may ask me: “why only now if you’re following his work since an year ago?”
When I saw his work for the first time I wanted to try this glitch thing. I found a glitch generator online and I started playing around. I wanted to experience it. Even though I was not very sure of it, and to be honest the fact that I couldn’t control didn’t please me at the time. I barely do analogue anymore because I like to control. And glitch is like analogue: it can flip out from your hands. In digital too, especially if you “click too fast” for the camera… and this is what happened to me few months ago that made me understand bit more the pleasure of letting it go: a photograph that came out glitched right from the camera when I was trying to control the shooting in very hard conditions. My own camera taught me how to let it go, creating itself a photograph for me when I was shooting the “Nude, a Body of Dance“:

Glitched Nude, by Gonzalo Bénard

Glitched Nude, by Gonzalo Bénard

Now make sure you visit David Szauder’s website and blog.
And for the fucking art’s sake: memorize his name: David Szauder!

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

some other essays that made 2HeadS even better:

Un Soir Place de la Bastille;
Danny Fitzgerald and Les Demi Dieux: Brooklyn Boys (NSFW)
Philip-Lorca diCorcia in the Street
Enrico Natali and other people
The Underground New York Public Library;
Genesis, by Sebastiao Salgado;
The Neighbours of Blazej Marczak;   
2013: The Interviews and The Photographers

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

from Failed Memories, by David Szauder

B Shot by a Stranger: Beyond Loneliness;  
Urs Lüthi. Self Portraits;
An Interview With The Incredible Photographer Gonzalo Benard for MutantSpace;
Alchemy, by Sarah Moon;
Jorge Molder: The King, The Captain, The Soldier and the Thief;
Katharine Cooper’s White Africans;
Martin, his sister and her camera;
The Roma Project, by Kieran Kesner.

January, 2014 by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter – Facebook
Portfolio Reviews


EYEMAZING – The New Collectible Art Photography

For any other contact about 2HeadS or my Photographic Work, from Art Galleries, Curators, Art Collectors, etc, please use the GBénard/2HeadS email. Thank you.

Feel free to comment, ask or share any article on 2HeadS everytime you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles.