Mandela Goes Free Today!

Nelson Mandela 1918-2013

Nelson Mandela with Collar: The Revolutionary

Nelson Mandela with Collar: The Revolutionary

Young Nelson Mandela boxing on a roof top in Johannesburg during a break from the Treason Trial in 1957. photo by Bob Gosani

Young Nelson Mandela boxing on a roof top in Johannesburg during a break from the Treason Trial in 1957. photo by Bob Gosani

And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Nelson Mandela in Robben Island

Nelson Mandela in Robben Island

“During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to this struggle of the African people. I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.”
Nelson Mandela by Hans Gedda

Nelson Mandela by Hans Gedda

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”
Photo by Ian Berry, South Africa, 1994

Photo by Ian Berry, South Africa, 1994

“When I walked out of prison, that was my mission, to liberate the oppressed and the oppressor both. Some say that has now been achieved. But I know that that is not the case. The truth is that we are not yet free; we have merely achieved the freedom to be free, the right not to be oppressed. We have not taken the final step of our journey, but the first step on a longer and even more difficult road. For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others. The true test of our devotion to freedom is just beginning.
I have walked that long road to freedom. I have tried not to falter; I have made missteps along the way. But I have discovered the secret that after climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb. I have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of the glorious vista that surrounds me, to look back on the distance I have come. But I can rest only for a moment, for with freedom come responsibilities, and I dare not linger, for my walk is not ended.”

Nelson Mandela, from Long Walk to Freedom

Soweto february 11 1990 by Trevor Samson AFP

Soweto february 11 1990 by Trevor Samson AFP

Mandela Goes Free Today!

December, 5th 2013

Long Live Madiba
and all that he fought for!