Walking the Dogs I

My love for dogs comes since always. And when I say dogs, I mean big dogs. Real dogs.
And fascinating too is how they mark their territory. As well as wolves.
Peeing all around they mark: It’s mine and I’m here.

The 2 dogs started some years ago when I saw 2 dogs “fornicating” in the street while I was having a drink at a terrace. It was hilarious the clumsiness of them 2 trying to mate. I couldn’t resist making a drawing, especially when a 3rd dog came and start peeing on them. After some time the drawing of the 2 dogs became a signature of mine. But that’s another story. This week I decided to turn them into “life”, cutting them in foam board and take them out for a walk…

Maybe a need of mine to mark the territory too. Or an excuse to walk around in Paris. Or just missing having dogs around.
The fact is that I created them to walk with them and enjoy “Walking the Dogs“.

Walking the Dogs #1, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #1, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #4, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #4, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #10, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #10, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #16, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #16, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #17, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #17, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #22, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #22, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

During these 2 days Walking the Dogs around Paris (with the help of Jordan Tizzard, a photography student from England), I had several reactions from people, including some with dogs who immediately put theirs dogs next to mine. I was in fact amazed with the reaction of most people, who smiled and talked with us because of my dogs. Most of them curious about the dogs.

So what was supposed to be a series of “Walking the Dogs” in which I’d put the dogs doing dog’s things, being part of a living city, I ended up with 3+1 different series, being one more funny dedicated to the thousands of tourists who takes pictures of their finger on the top of every monument: “Dogs Eating Paris“.

In one of the 3 series, “Walking the Dogs I” you’ll see them interacting alone in the city, marking their territory, peeing around and mating on each corner.
(It was quite difficult to avoid them doing it… you know dogs).

On the other, “Walking The Dogs II“, they interact not only with the city but they also face different situations that made them interact with people, their dogs, etc.

Enjoy! Walking the Dogs can always be an amazing experience.

Walking the Dogs #28, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #28, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #30, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #30, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #32, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #32, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #34, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #34, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #35, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

Walking the Dogs #35, Paris, by ©GonzaloBénard

related posts:
Dogs Eating Paris
Walking The Dogs II

text and photographs by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
June, 2013
Follow me @GBenard on twitter – FacebookPortfolio Reviews

Feel free to comment, ask or share any article on 2HeadS everytime you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles. Surprise me!