Conversations Around the Table

The series “Conversations around the Table” was inspired in the Portuguese tradition of meeting people around a table – for no reason, and also in the wonderful short film “Coffee and Cigarettes” directed by Jim Jarmusch with Iggy Pop and Tom Waits.

Conversations Around the Table #1, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #1, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

As I wrote in “The Old Roots and The Now Routes“, the day I felt that the sabbatical year after my coma was no longer needed, I went back to Lisbon in 2012, where I knew I had to face my past once it was there where I was born and raised, where all my family was. But I felt comfortable and I only had to find my place in that world, or back into the society.

The series “Conversations around the Table” was the result of that. There was a space and there were more people, instead of my usual plain black background with only me represented in the photograph. There was a world at the beginning. World that became less and less existent.

There were people asking questions, most of them silly ones or nonsense. With this happening, I felt the need of expressing all that non-sense chitchat with old friends and old family. They were no longer part of my life, even if they thought so or wanted to.  I was not there anymore in those conversations, and I didn’t want to: as I didn’t feel any need to be part of them. I was living my own age, and they were out of them since long time: as if they were in a past life for me. The one before coma: Before the re-birth.

Conversations Around the Table #2, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #2, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #8, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #8, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #3, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #3, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

“Conversations around the Table” is a tribute to all the people who made me “loose my time” when I was in Lisbon. The confrontation with the catholic society: the fakeness of beings when I was even more fascinated by the honesty of nature; the catholic based concepts of bad and good all misunderstood; the most inspiring people who were later on the most deceiving ones, all led me to an attempt of understanding the real world. A delightful world in which they live in cheating and being slaves of their own selves.
Who were those people anyway?

Conversations Around the Table #11, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #11, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #10, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #10, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #9, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #9, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

In a Conversation around the Table usually there’s no sense of time: when you watch the clock you will find out that you’re sitting there since ages without noticing.
How many times you find yourself dreaming awake while the other one is talking with you? I’m sure you already caught yourself visualizing the other as an animal, without nose, with 4 arms, acting weird and funny or simply naked when you’re completely out of focus on the other’s conversation. Conversations around the Table are great to get lost in one’s mind… to disconnect from others uninteresting chitchat leaving your mind creating and dreaming.

Conversations Around the Table #17 by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #17 by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #18 ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #18 ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #19, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #19, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

You never make me loose time:
If you make me be there listening to your chitchat, I’ll take that time for myself to wonder… so I see nudes walking around. And animals talking or just being there. I see distorted behaviours. I see dead people asking for help. I imagine life without you being there trying to chitchat with me. I create my own conversations around the table with much more interesting beings: the new inhabitants inside my mind.

Conversations Around the Table #22, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #22, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

As if you made my consciousness sleep and my subconscious being free.
Or just reading a good book.

Conversations Around the Table #14, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Conversations Around the Table #14, 2012, by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Exhibition "Conversations Around the Table", by ©Gonzalo Bénard

Other essays you should read:

How to Cook Humans;
Oneness
;

Studies On Light Nudes (NSFW):
The Awakening of the Self;
An Interview With The Incredible Photographer Gonzalo Benard for MutantSpace;
Pain should never be an excuse, but a tool for you to create with;

An Art Nude (NSFW)  
The Nude: Why? (NSFW)
Straight Thoughts on Nudes and Ostriches (NSFW)
A Sacred Erotica (NSFW)

Winds With the Sea Inside (NSFW)

Feb 2013, post by ©Gonzalo Bénard for 2HeadS
follow @GBenard on twitter – Facebook
Portfolio Reviews

For any other contact about 2HeadS or my Photographic Work, from Art Galleries, Curators, Art Collectors, etc, please use the GBénard/2HeadS email. Thank you.

Feel free to comment, ask, follow or share in your networks any article on 2HeadS everytime you feel that you can add something interesting and positive to the articles.